Auto

How Much Is GEICO Car Insurance per Month? (2026): About $156 to $173 for Full Coverage, Cheaper Than Most Rivals, Except After a DUI

By Stephanie Rodriguez | Reviewed by Steve Davis
Updated: October 3, 2026
•
5 min read

Key Takeaways

  • NerdWallet’s April 2026 analysis puts GEICO full coverage at $171 a month ($2,053 a year) against a national average of $2,315 a year.
  • Minimum coverage costs $41 a month at GEICO in NerdWallet, against a national average of about $52 a month ($621 a year).
  • AutoInsurance.com finds GEICO’s full coverage about 25% below the national average at $156 a month.
  • MoneyGeek ranks GEICO second for affordability among 14 insurers, but says a DUI raises the rate by $133 a month, the highest increase of any insurer it analyzed.
  • GEICO offers more than 20 discounts with savings up to 25% depending on eligibility, according to AutoInsurance.com.
  • GEICO holds an A++ financial strength rating from AM Best, but its claims satisfaction score from J.D. Power is below the industry average, per AutoInsurance.org.

GEICO is where many drivers start shopping, and the rate studies explain why. Most 2026 analyses put GEICO full coverage between $156 and $173 a month and minimum coverage between $41 and $46 a month, below the national average in nearly every case.

The weak spot is a DUI. GEICO’s rate jumps more than most insurers’ after one, so drivers with a DUI should compare alternatives. For everyone else, the price is hard to beat, and the discount list is long.

GEICO is cheaper than most for typical drivers. It is a poor value after a DUI.

Sources agree on the direction and differ on the level. LendingTree reports $173 a month for full coverage and $65 for liability only, both slightly below its national averages of $177 and $68. MoneyGeek reports $98 a month for a 40 year old man with good credit and a clean record, $38 below its national average of $136. WalletHub reports $241, still below its own national full coverage average of $351. U.S. News gives GEICO a 4.7 out of 5 rating and reports fewer complaints than average per NAIC data.

How much is GEICO car insurance per month?

GEICO full coverage averages $156 to $173 a month in most studies and minimum coverage $41 to $46. The table lists each source.

The rates and information displayed below reflect full-coverage averages unless noted.

SourceFull coverage, per monthMinimum or liability, per month
MoneyGeek (August 2026)$98Not stated
AutoInsurance.com (July 2026)$156$46
NerdWallet (April 2026)$171$41
LendingTree (March 2026)$173$65 (liability only)
WalletHub (July 2026)$241Not stated

Sample rates only; actual quotes vary by state, vehicle, driving record, and other factors. MoneyGeek’s figure is for a 40 year old man with good credit and a clean record.

How much does GEICO cost by age?

Age changes the price sharply, and GEICO comes in below the national median at every age NerdWallet tracked. The table shows yearly medians for full coverage.

AgeGEICO median, per yearNational median, per year
20$3,780$4,712
30$2,064$2,394
35$2,053$2,315
40$2,032$2,247
50$1,874$2,087
60$1,854$1,997
70$2,059$2,133

Sample rates only; actual quotes vary by state, vehicle, driving record, and other factors. Source: NerdWallet, April 2026.

Is GEICO cheaper after a ticket, accident, or DUI?

GEICO tends to stay cheap after a speeding ticket and for drivers with poor credit, according to NerdWallet, but it is not as cheap after a DUI. MoneyGeek quantifies the DUI gap: GEICO raises the rate to $231 a month against Progressive’s $161, and its $133 a month increase is the highest of any insurer in the analysis. If you have a DUI, quote Progressive and State Farm alongside GEICO.

How does GEICO pricing vary by state?

Location matters more than most drivers expect. MoneyGeek shows GEICO’s monthly full coverage rates ranging from $53 in Idaho to $203 in Florida. Urban areas with higher accident frequency and theft rates typically see higher premiums than rural areas, according to Matrix Insurance. Because rates shift so much by state, use the averages above to judge direction and get a quote for the real figure.

What discounts does GEICO offer?

AutoInsurance.com counts more than 20 GEICO discounts, with savings up to 25% depending on eligibility. NerdWallet agrees drivers looking for ways to save find more discount opportunities at GEICO than at many other insurers.

DiscountWhat it offersSource
Multiple vehiclesUp to 25% per vehicleLendingTree, Matrix Insurance
Usage based (DriveEasy)Up to 25%, with most participants earning 5% to 15%Matrix Insurance
Bundling with renters or homeUp to 10% on autoMatrix Insurance
Military and federal employeeAvailable for eligible driversMoneyGeek

Discount amounts are maximums cited by the sources. Availability varies by state and eligibility.

GEICO ratings and customer service

MeasureResultSource
U.S. News rating4.7 out of 5, with fewer complaints than average per NAICU.S. News
AM Best financial strengthA++ (Superior)AutoInsurance.com, LendingTree
J.D. Power claims satisfaction697 out of 1,000, below the industry averageAutoInsurance.org
Customer feedbackMostly positive on service and claims, with most surveyed customers planning to renewU.S. News

The mixed signals are worth noting. LendingTree describes GEICO’s customer satisfaction ratings in J.D. Power’s 2023 auto insurance study as average or below average in most regions. If claims handling and local agent help matter as much as price, get a State Farm or Allstate quote to compare.

GEICO pros and cons

ProsCons
Rates below national averages across ages, per NerdWalletRates rise more than most insurers’ after a DUI, per MoneyGeek
More than 20 discountsFewer coverage options than some rivals, per LendingTree
A++ AM Best financial strengthJ.D. Power claims score below the industry average, per AutoInsurance.org
Cheapest large insurer for liability only in NerdWallet’s February 2026 analysisMostly direct sales, with no local agent network like State Farm’s

Frequently asked questions

How much is GEICO car insurance per month for full coverage?

Between $156 and $173 a month in most studies. NerdWallet reports $171, AutoInsurance.com $156, and LendingTree $173, with outliers of $98 at MoneyGeek and $241 at WalletHub because of different sample drivers.

How much is GEICO minimum coverage per month?

Between $41 and $46 a month in NerdWallet and AutoInsurance.com. LendingTree’s liability only average is $65. Minimum coverage pays only for damage you cause to others, not your own car.

Is GEICO cheap?

Yes, for most drivers. AutoInsurance.com calls GEICO one of the cheaper major insurers, and its full coverage is about 25% below the national average. GEICO is the exception for drivers with a recent DUI.

Is GEICO cheaper than Progressive?

Usually for typical profiles, though the gap is small. Progressive is cheaper for a DUI: MoneyGeek shows $161 a month against GEICO’s $231.

Does GEICO offer usage based insurance?

Yes. Its DriveEasy program tracks driving through a mobile app and can produce discounts up to 25%, per Matrix Insurance, though most participants earn 5% to 15%.

The bottom line

GEICO full coverage averages about $156 to $173 a month, below the national average across every age NerdWallet tracked, and it backs that price with more than 20 discounts and an A++ financial strength rating. A DUI is the exception, and its claims satisfaction score trails the industry average. Compare quotes from at least three insurance companies, including GEICO, and use the InsuredSpot website to see them side by side.

Ready to Compare?

Enter your ZIP code to see your options in minutes.

Compare options from multiple insurers You're in control of who contacts you